Part 4 Rules for Other Bodies of the Council

Rules for other Bodies of the Council

1. AUDIT COMMITTEE

1.1 Membership

The Audit Committee shall have seven Councillors.

1.2 Quorum

The Quorum shall be three Councillors.

1.3 Meetings

The Committee shall normally meet at least four times per year.

1.4 Training

a. All Members of the Committee will be expected to attend Audit training refresher sessions as and when they are provided;

2. DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT

2.1 Membership

The Development Management and Licensing Committee shall have ten Councillors.

2.2 Training

- a. All Members will be expected to attend planning and licensing training refresher sessions as and when they are provided;
- b. Newly elected Members will have to attend appropriate induction Planning and Licensing Training before they can take part in the decision making process;
- c. Repeat sessions will be held in conjunction with South Hams District Council to provide additional opportunities for Members to meet the requirement to attend the induction training;
- d. If they so wish, re-elected Members will be welcome to attend the induction sessions.

2.3 Quorum

The Quorum shall be four councillors adjusted annually if necessary.

2. DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT AND LICENSING COMMITTEE (cont'd)

2.4 Rules of Debate

The Rules of Debate, as outlined under Council Procedure Rule XX, apply with one exception. The exception is as follows:-

In the event of a Member wishing to propose a motion which is contrary to the case officer recommendation, the Member must give their reasons for this proposal at the time of making it.

2.5 Voting

In view of the quasi – judicial nature of much of the business of the Committee there is a general obligation for Councillors to remain for the whole of the debate or to have participated in any previous consideration on any particular application and certainly to refrain from voting if either of these essential requirements have not been achieved. Members should refer to the Planning Code of Good Practice.

2.6 **Meetings**

The Development Management and Licensing Committee shall normally meet every four weeks.

Eligibility

Every Member of Council is eligible to be a Member of the Development Management and Licensing Committee. The Leader of Council cannot be Chairman of Development Management and Licensing Committee.

4. LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES

Licensing Sub Committees will be convened to hear licensing applications in accordance with the Delegation Scheme and the Rules as set out below. Members of the Development Management and Licensing Committee will include substitute Members of that committee who will have undertaken the same training as full Committee Members.

1. Licensing Sub-Committees shall be established to hear applications under the Licensing Act 2003.

4.1 Membership

Each Licensing Sub-Committee shall have three councillors, drawn from the Development Management & Licensing Committee. Local Members will not be appointed onto a sub- committee to consider any applications which are located within their local ward.

4.2 Quorum

The Quorum shall be three councillors.

4.3 Meetings

The Licensing Sub-Committees meet as required.

2. Licensing Sub-Committees shall be established to hear applications under the Gambling Act 2005.

4.1 Membership

Each Licensing Sub-Committee shall have three councillors, drawn from the Development Management & Licensing Committee. Local Members will not be appointed onto a sub- committee to consider any applications which are located within their local ward.

4.2 Quorum

The Quorum shall be three councillors.

4.3 Meetings

The Licensing Sub-Committees meet as required.

3. Licensing Sub-Committees shall be established to hear applications under the Taxi Licensing Legislation.

4.1 Membership

Each Licensing Sub-Committee shall have three councillors, drawn from the Development Management & Licensing Committee.

4.2 Quorum

The Quorum shall be three councillors.

4.3 Meetings

The Licensing Sub-Committees meet as required.

5. COUNCIL TAX SETTING PANEL

5.1 Membership

The Council Tax Setting Panel shall consist of four Members and comprises:-

Leader of Council Deputy Leader of the Council Mayor of Council Leader of the Opposition Group

5.2 Meetings

The Council Tax Setting Panel shall meet annually, following the Council's agreement of the budget for the forthcoming municipal year and notification from Devon County Council, the Devon and Cornwall Police Authority, Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue Service, the Dartmoor National Park Authority and each Parish/Town Council of their individual precepting requirements.

6. STANDARDS COMMITTEE

The Standards Committee will have a specific role in the determination of Member Code of Conduct Complaints (including Town and Parish Council Members) in accordance with the Council's adopted procedure for dealing with Code of Conduct complaints.

4.1 Membership

The Standards Committee shall have five councillors.

4.2 Quorum

The Quorum shall be three councillors.

4.3 Meetings

The Standards Committee must meet at least once each year.